Skagit County

Location of Skagit County in Washington StateSkagit County is located in the northwest portion of Washington State.  It is bordered on the west by San Juan County, the north by Whatcom County, the east by Chelan County, the south by Snohomish County and the southwest by Island County.  As of the 2010 U.S. Census, Skagit County had a total land area of 1,731.20 square miles and a population of 116,901.  Mount Vernon is the largest city with a population of 31,743.  Also of interest:

  • Intersecting watershed sub-basins(9):  Methow, Lake Chelan, Strait of Georgia, Nooksack, Upper Skagit, Sauk, Lower Skagit, Stillaguamish and Puget Sound.
  • Major lakes:  Lake Shannon, Lake Cavanaugh and Big Lake.
  • Major rivers:  Skagit River, Samish River, Cascade River, Sauk River, Suiattle River and S. Fork Nooksack River. 
  • Mount Buckner (9,114 feet) is part of the North Cascades and the highest point in Skagit County.

U.S. Census Bureau QuickFacts for Skagit County, WA

Office of Financial Management (OFM) county data for Skagit County, WA