Find articles, maps, and other content tagged by any of the 21 watershed sub-basins in the Puget Sound area. The geospatial boundaries below represent the 4th level (8-digit) hydrologic unit boundaries of the Watershed Boundary Dataset (WBD) layer for Washington. Data source: The U.S. Department of Agriculture, Natural Resources Conservation Service.

map showing the 21 watershed sub-basins in Puget Sound

Strait of Georgia watershed San Juan Islands Watershed Dungeness-Elwha Watershed Crescent Hoko Watershed Hood Canal Watershed Skokomish Watershed Puget Sound Watershed Nooksack Watershed Fraser Watershed Upper Skagit Wwatershed Lower Skagit Watershed Stillaguamish Watershed Snohomish Watershed Skykomish Watershed Snoqualmie Watershed Lake Washington Watershed Duwamish Watershed Puyallup Watershed Nisqually Watershed Deschutes Watershed


Coastal Management journal cover

Developing Human Wellbeing Indicators in the Puget Sound: Focusing on the Watershed Scale

This paper appears in the July 2014 issue of the journal Coastal Management, which focuses on the role of social sciences in Puget Sound ecosystem recovery.


Puget Sound watershed hydrologic units

There are many ways of defining the boundaries of the Puget Sound watershed. Hydrologic unit codes (HUCs) are nationally standardized divisions that are often used by conservation agencies and national organizations.

State of Our Watersheds Report

Report: 2012 State of Our Watersheds

The State of Our Watersheds Report is produced by the treaty tribes of western Washington, and seeks to present a comprehensive view of 20 watersheds in the Puget Sound region and the major issues that are impacting habitat.

Interesection of NW GAP Hydrological Units and Puget Sound WRIAs

Puget Sound terrestrial vertebrates

The Encyclopedia of Puget Sound, in cooperation with the USGS, has developed a list of terrestrial vertebrates occurring within the Puget Sound basin.

WRIA boundaries in Puget Sound area

Water Resource Inventory Areas in Puget Sound

The Washington State Department of Ecology and other state natural resources agencies have divided the Washington into 62 "Water Resource Inventory Areas" or "WRIAs" to delineate the state's major watersheds.