Mason County

Location of Mason County in Washington StateMason County is located on the Olympic Peninsula in Washington State.  It is bordered on the west by Grays Harbor County, the northwest by Jefferson County, the northeast by Kitsap County, the east by Pierce County and the south by Thurston County.  As of the 2010 U.S. Census, Mason County had a total land area of 959.42 square miles and a population of 60,699.  Shelton is the largest city with a population of 9,834.  Also of interest:

  • Intersecting watersheds sub-basins(5):  Queets-Quinalt, Lower Chehalis, Skokomish, Hood Canal and Puget Sound.
  • Major lakes:  Lake Cushman and Mason Lake.
  • Major rivers:  Union River, Tahuya River, Dewatto River, Hamma Hamma River, S. Fork Skokomish River and E. Fork Satsop River.
  • Mount Washington (6,260 feet) is part of the Olympic Mountains and the highest point in Mason County.

U.S. Census Bureau QuickFacts for Mason County, WA

Office of Financial Management (OFM) county data for Mason County, WA


Visual representation of Human Wellbeing domains for marine policy.

A holistic framework for identifying human wellbeing indicators for marine policy

A 2015 paper in the journal Marine Policy identifies six domains of human wellbeing related to the natural environment. The domains were developed based on case studies in Washington's Hood Canal and Olympic Coast regions.

Hood canal watershed boundaries; image courtesy of the Puget Sound Partnership

Developing human wellbeing indicators for the Hood Canal watershed

The University of Washington Puget Sound Institute and Stanford University in collaboration with the Hood Canal Coordinating Council report on efforts to select human wellbeing indicators relevant to natural resource management in the Hood Canal watershed.
Vern Morgas (second from the left) and friends

Puget Sound Voices: scuba pioneer

Vern Morgas remembers the early days of scuba diving in Puget Sound.


2010 Census Quick Facts for Mason County, WA

Learn more about demographics in Mason County, Washington.  The U.S. Census Bureau published the following quick facts.